Rotary Club of Windsor (1918) 7911 Forest Glade Drive, Windsor, Ontario N8T 3R7
Tel: 519-253-6382  Fax: 519-253-7723  Email:  Website:
Follow us on Social Media:     

Meeting Time: 12:00PM

Place: Caboto Club, 2175 Parent Ave. Windsor, ON N8X 4K2

For Today's Meeting 

Reporter: TBD
Registrar: Jerry Pocock
Front Door Greeter: Dan Karon
Back Door Greeter: Bill McRae
Invocation: Renee Pare
Four-Way Test: Emma Bufton

Today's Program:

Walkerville BIA - Vision for a Vibrant District

Upcoming Meetings:

Monday, October 9th: Thanksgiving (no meeting)

Monday, October 16th: Dr. Vincent Georgie, Director of the School of Creative Arts and Executive Director of the Windsor International Film Festival - The Arts as an Economic Driver

  • Julie Dragich spoke about the United Way's new campaign, Re-United, which was developed to adapt to the changing needs of our community.
  • Ryan Mancini explained some initiatives the Literacy Committee has been involved with, including Raise-a-Reader Book Drive, the Literacy/Peace Classroom initiative and their partnership with Junior Achievement. He then presented the Walter Hadden Literacy Awards to the following:
    • The Safety Village, award received by Melissa Lauzon
    • Book Mobile, award received by Kitty Pope and
    • The Children's Aid Society's Supervised Visits Program, award received by Lyle Ward.
  • Clinton Beckford spoke about the Textbook Project with Tacky High School in Jamaica. The committee would like to see an expansion of this program in the future.

Upcoming Events

Centennial Hub - Grand Opening
Oct 14, 2017 
10:30 AM – 12:00 PM
St. Clair College Centre for the Arts
Oct 20, 2017 
6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Pig Out For Polio
Walkerville Brewery
Oct 24, 2017
6:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Safari Soiree
Mezzo Ristorante & Lounge
Oct 26, 2017 
6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
Athena Scholarship Luncheon
Nov 03, 2017 
11:30 AM – 1:30 PM
Schoolcraft Community College - VisTaTech Center
Nov 16, 2017 5:00 PM – 
Nov 18, 2017 5:00 PM
Members with birthdays this week:
  • Robert Maich
  • Karen Howard
  • Matt Lahoud
  • Jim Adkin
Thank you for your commitment:
  • Allison Prieur (1 Year)
  • Sue Byron (7 Years)
  • Neil Bear (8 Years)
  • Roman Maev (20 Years)
  • Don Larkin (32 Years)
  • Ed Boycott (20 Years)
  • Om Chanda (15 Years)
  • Members from the Peace and Conflict Resolution Committee, under the leadership of Cindy Duggal, inspired students from Dougall Public School to "go out and spread peace in the community". Students celebrated with Pinwheels for Peace during World Peace Day. Pinwheels for Peace is an international program that has produced "millions of whirling works of art since 2005". Please take a moment and watch the video - truly inspiring:

  • Volunteer drivers are needed for this year's Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA). If you can commit to pick up our students on Thursday, November 16th at 4:00PM at Huron Church Line & Tecumseh Rd and/or pick them up at Schoolcraft College in Livonia on Saturday, November 18th at 5:00PM, please contact the Rotary office at at 519-253-6382 or email
Jim Ion donated the $73.00 to the Foundation Fund in memory of Walter Hadden.

Our 2nd major fundraiser! Volunteers are needed for daytime Bingos. 

Please contact: Walter Willms: 519-966-7150 or


Date 8:15-4:15 8:15-2:30 9:00-2:30 11:30-4:15
Wednesday, Oct 4 Filled Filled Filled Filled
Wednesday, Nov 22 Filled Filled Filled Filled
The schedule for 2018 will soon be available.
The net bingo revenue for August was $999.75. Thanks to all who made this possible.


Battery Box Program

The Battery Recycle Box Program is active. Please drop your used batteries, light bulbs, ink cartridges and other recycle items in the battery box at the back of the room.

The link for last week's pictures (and all pictures for 2016 and 2017) is:

On-Line Make-Ups

To do an on-line make-up, go to:

Upcoming Committee Meetings

To have your meeting posted, contact the Rotary Office at 519-253-6382 or
Birthdays & Rotary Milestones
Member Birthdays
Sevda Barin
October 6
Elaine Whitmore
October 8
Frank De Angelis
October 8
Robert Maich
October 14
Karen Howard
October 15
Matt Lahoud
October 20
Jim Adkin
October 22
Kevin Larkin
October 24
Neil Chitte
October 28
Kay Douglas
October 31
Nels Katzman
November 1
Ross Clarke
November 3
Theresa Schuurman
November 3
Jim Blue
November 4
Cristina Melnik
November 7
Ed Zusko
November 7
Emma Bufton
November 9
David Boyd
November 10
Jesse Thompson
November 13
Jim Quinn
November 17
Sheila Gordon
November 17
Gary Katz
November 18
Lissa Percy
November 19
Romeo Girardi
November 20
Mark Campbell
November 22
Mike Serafimovski
November 24
Tom Holmes
November 24
Bill McRae
November 25
Jennifer Charron
November 25
Join Date
Dan Karon
October 4, 1993
24 years
Fred Sorrell
October 6, 1980
37 years
Allison Prieur
October 17, 2016
1 year
Sue Byron
October 18, 2010
7 years
Neil Bear
October 19, 2009
8 years
Roman Maev
October 20, 1997
20 years
Don Larkin
October 21, 1985
32 years
Ed Boycott
October 21, 2013
4 years
Om Chandna
October 21, 2002
15 years
Janice Forsyth
October 29, 2012
5 years
Robert Maich
October 29, 2007
10 years
Phil Cohen
November 1, 1993
24 years
Yvonne Brown
November 2, 2015
2 years
Mohamed Moussa
November 6, 2006
11 years
Gary Katz
November 11, 2002
15 years
Matt Lahoud
November 11, 2016
1 year
David Boyd
November 13, 2001
16 years
Neil McTavish
November 14, 2011
6 years
Bill Wilkinson
November 17, 1986
31 years
Jules Hawkins
November 17, 2008
9 years
Frank De Angelis
November 19, 1979
38 years
Karen Howard
November 19, 2001
16 years
Murray Elder
November 27, 1967
50 years
Russell Hampton
National Awards Services Inc.